by | Jun 5, 2017

Church and Peace’s Board (formerly Administrative Committee) oversees the network’s business and manages its finances. It reflects Church and Peace’s denominational, geographic and membership diversity. Its members are elected for three-year term, the next elections will be in the year 2021.

The next meetings:

1 July 2021, online


Antje Heider-Rottwilm – Chair

Antje Heider-Rottwilm worked as a pastor until 2014. From 2008 she was responsible for the development of the Ecumenical Forum HafenCity in Hamburg, a project of 20 churches which houses a chapel, an organic fair-trade cafe, meeting rooms, and an ecumenical intentional community.
Antje, together with her husband, has been a member of the Laurentiuskonvent since 1979. She has been involved in peace work for decades, served as Europe director of the Evangelical Church in Germany (EKD) for 11 years and was a member of the central committee of the Conference of European Churches (CEC). She has been chair of Church and Peace since 2009.

Bruno Sägesser – Vice Chair

Bruno Sägesser is a Mennonite and an individual member of Church and Peace from Switzerland. He has contributed to the elaboration of the law on conscientious objection and counseled Swiss conscientious objectors in the application and hearing process. He has been a Board member since 2001.

Elisabeth Freise – Treasurer

Elisabeth Freise is a Catholic and an individual member of Church and Peace.
She is Southeastern Europe program director at the international Christian
peace service agency EIRENE and organizes orientation and re-entry seminars
for volunteers and and professional peace workers. Elisabeth has served on
the Boards since 2009 and as treasurer since 2012.

Maria Biedrawa

Maria Biedrawa is a social pedagogue and trainer in non-violent conflict resolution. She belongs to the Catholic Church. She is a member of the French branch of the International Fellowship of Reconciliation and the Ark Community, as well as a graduate of the peace diaconate training programme of gewaltfrei handeln. In this capacity she has been involved in peace work in African contexts for several years. She has been a speaker at several Church and Peace conferences and is therefore known and appreciated by many in our network. She was elected as Board member in 2018.

Barbara Forbes

Barbara Forbes is a Quaker and an individual member of Church and Peace from the United Kingdom. She lived in Hamburg for ten years and worked there for the Lutheran Church. She has now been a Quaker for 30 years and, together with her husband, was the Quaker representative in Brussels for five years in the 1990s. Her current concerns are focused on asylum and refugee issues, militarisation of society, tax justice, the abolition of torture, and grass-roots community work. She is a trustee of the Community for Reconciliation which is a member organisation of Church and Peace. Barbara has served on the Board since 2015.

Kees Nieuwerth

Kees Nieuwerth is a Quaker and an individual member from the Netherlands. He is active in a number of peace movements: Church and Peace, Kerk en Vrede, IFOR, Women Peacemakers Program and Pugwash. He is also involved in the ecumenical movement and contributed actively to the Just Peace dialogue in the World Council of Churches. He has served on the Board since 2015.

Vjollca Racaj

Vjollca Racaj lives in Prishtina, Kosovo. She is member of the International
Protestant Evangelical Church ‘Fellowship of the Lord’s People’ in Pristina. Vjollca has served on the Board since 2016.